From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Paleo Challenge – Week 1

on May 14, 2012

Ok, so I’m totally jumping ahead here, but I felt the need to start journaling a little bit about what I am  doing right now before I forget.  My health coach is a big believer in the Paleo style of eating.  I have done Paleo before, but found it difficult to stick with.  For one, I have 3 kids who gave me a lot of grief over food choices.  For two, I found it to be incredibly expensive.  At the time that we did Paleo the first time, we were a family of 5 on one income.  Buying all the organic, grass-fed meats and organic fruits and veggies was really out of our budget.  I also became very frustrated by the fact that I was spending so much money on food and my kids were all complaining about the food we were eating.  They also complained about being hungry all the time.  I never seemed to be able to fill them up!  This all occurred last June.  Fast forward to today, and I am trying to move into Paleo again.  Instead of the 30 day challenge I did last time that was woefully unsuccessful, I am trying a slower approach.  This week, I went off all grains.  The kids however, only went off gluten.  (I should mention that my husband has been super supportive of whatever diet changes I have made and generally eats whatever I eat.  I am very blessed, I know.)  Leaving off the grains this week has really been pretty easy.  I was already off gluten due to my allergy, which we will get to later, so it wasn’t a huge leap.  The main thing I miss is tortilla chips and my rice crackers.  I love a good guacamole, salsa or cheese dip and using veggies instead of chips really doesn’t do it for me.  However, I am willing to forgo lots more than that to get my health where I want it.  The kids have done GREAT on the gluten free diet.  I intend to bring them further along on my Paleo journey, but right now I think I need to pave the way and find things that work and then bring them along more slowly.  Next challenge- peanut butter.  Peanuts are a legume, so true Paleo eaters don’t do peanut butter.  I am going to say right off the bat that this may not be a lifelong thing.  I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER! I can eat it on just about anything (or nothing).  Since I have never given it up before, I am going to give it a try since it is a highly allergenic food.  I know I am not acutely allergic, but I don’t know if I might have a more subtle allergic response.  So here goes.  Start praying now…I’ll check back in to let you know how I am doing.

Leave a Reply

