From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log -Still under construction

on May 15, 2012

Exercise-

I am doing the Bodyrock.tv 30 day challenge and it was Fit Test day so I did 16 rounds of high intensity intervals.  The FitTest really only involved 12 rounds but I threw in another round for good measure.  I increased my scores (# of reps) since the last Fit Test 2 weeks ago so that is good.  I also did the Flow Test on Bodyrock and my flexibility is definitely increasing.  I finished up my doing 20 minutes of yoga.  For those of you unfamiliar with Bodyrock you should check it out.  It is free for one thing, but the hosts on there are awesome!!  Really super sweet people.

Later in the morning my husband and I went out kayaking for 1.5 hours.  That counts as exercise, right?  Mostly upper body, but still something.  Actually it was super fun.  We had never done it before and we ended up right alongside a group of dolphins for about 30 minutes.  I felt like a kid.  I couldn’t wipe the grin off my face:)

I took one 15 minute walk on the beach and I took the stairs up the 9 flights to our condo about 10 times, oftentimes carrying multiple beach bags & chairs.

Food-

Breakfast- 2 scrambled eggs w/1 tbsp swiss cheese, leftover roasted broccoli, 1 slice of organic red pear, 1/2 cup fresh pineapple,  4oz. unsweetened cranberry juice

Snack- 1 oz. really dark chocolate

Lunch- 1/2 tomato, 1/2 cup chicken salad, 2 cups baby kale, 3 organic strawberries, 1 tbsp blue cheese dressing

Dinner- Went out to eat & split 2 entrees with my husband so not sure on the exact portion sizes-  I know I had one small new potato, a few french fries, a small amount of slaw, maybe 3oz of grilled red snapper and 3oz of grouper.

And the kicker-  A turtle ice cream concrete from our favorite ice cream place down here.  For those of you who don’t know a turtle concrete is this heavenly concoction of vanilla custard ice cream mixed with hot fudge, caramel and roasted pecans.  So yummy.  In my defense I only got a junior size and then ate less than half.  There was a time when I would have felt guilty over this.  Not any more.  I feel certain that God did not create me to live in guilt and shame over a few bites of ice cream.  I know now he wants me to enjoy  the good things He gives me in life.  I don’t say this to condone overindulging in anything, just that He loves to lavish good and appropriate gifts and tonight that gift was a few scruptious bites of my favorite ice cream surrounded by the laughter of my family:))

Leave a Reply

