From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on May 27, 2012

First…I started my period today!!  Yeah!!  It was two weeks late, so this is a celebration.  I love my babies and all, but let’s face it (if you have read my health history then you know this) they almost killed me! Twice!  Maybe thrice!  My husband had a vasectomy after my daughter, but we were remiss in getting it checked afterward so we can’t be 100% sure that it took. Maybe we should do that now, think?  Anyway, I know this is personal information to some people, but for me it actually feels more personal to share what I eat with you all day long.  As someone who has eaten in secret ( in the past and the not-so-distant past) it feels very intimate to share that information. But, it also feels liberating.  I made a commitment to be honest on here and I intend to follow through.  With that said, here’s what I ate today.

Exercise- 30 minute treadmill walk on incline

Breakfast- protein shake-  same except I used 2 scoops of protein powder & 1 slice pineappple to get me through the show at church-  I do a little acting in a church skit group and there was a lot of drama in today’s episode!

Lunch- My mom had a pork roast  so we ate with her.  I made mine into a salad and it was so good!!  Organic greens, BBQ meat, BBQ sauce (low sugar), dubliner cheese (of course), toasted sliced almonds, chia seeds and this new dressing I got at Whole Foods (about 1 tbsp).  It is called Barcelona Vinaigrette from Cindy’s Kitchen.  It is made with extra-virgin olive oil instead of canola oil like a lot of store bought dressings.  It also has no sugar. I thought is was super tasty.  I also had about a fourth a cup of slaw because I am a slaw loving girl:))

Snack- Having serious sugar cravings today.  1 piece pineapple, 7 organic green grapes, 3 oz grapefruit juice with 3 oz sparkling water

Other-took 1 Advil at 4pm for headache, cramps, & sore throat.  Feel lots of drainage:((

Dinner- Had same salad as lunch (no slaw this time)

Snack- 2 cups of sore throat tea w/tsp honey, 1 slice pineapple, 10 organic green grapes- The sore throat and cramps really made me want comforting, cold ice cream tonight smothered in peanut butter and chocolate!  I mean REALLY want it.  Curl up in the corner and cry want it!  But because I knew I had to write this post tonight, I had fruit instead.  Still a lot of sugar, but it was definitely the best I could do under the circumstances.

Leave a Reply

