From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Health History- Continued

on May 30, 2012

After my diagnosis of Sjodgren’s and vasculitis, the rheumatologist put me on Prednisone.  I knew immediately that I did not want to take it.  I had heard horror stories from friends and family about the side effects and complications with it.  However, I was scared.  The doctor was telling me I had to get my inflammation under control ASAP if I wanted to avoid the mini strokes.  I had ZERO peace about it, but I decided to take the drug.  It did not go well.  It made everything worse.  I just couldn’t tolerate it.  I couldn’t sleep.  I could barely eat.  It felt like there were bugs crawling underneath my skin.  I was incredibly anxious.  I took the Prednisone for 1 month- September 2010.  After that, against my doctor’s wishes, I quit.  I knew this was not my path.  I had been praying continuously and earnestly the entire month and I just felt God telling me that this was not His plan for me.  I knew there was a plan. “For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you,” says the Lord, “thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome.” Jeremiah 29:11  I clung to this verse with white knuckles. I trusted that whatever God had for me, it was for my good.  Even if it was death.  That was a hard thing, but I just had to let go and know that He had me in the palm of His hand. I decided that whatever the Lord had for me, it was not the path of conventional health care, and I went in search of something else. Something that would bring me a sense of peace.  Something that would honor the way my body was designed.  Something that would help me get my body back in balance and promote the natural healing that I knew was possible.

Leave a Reply

