From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Book Review and Workout Revamp

on June 7, 2012

So you all know that I revamped my diet this week.  After reading The Metabolic Effect Diet I am revamping my workouts as well!  For those of you who haven’t read it, I highly recommend it.  Many of the recommendations run parallel to the Paleo way of eating.  It is very high protein, low-carb.  One thing I love about it is that there is no calorie counting.  The authors Jade & Keoni Teta focus on how you can turn your hormones on to burn fat and keep you lean without really having to focus on it 24/7.  The workouts are fast and intense, which is great for me.  In the past I was one of those people who would run for hours on the treadmill, then do a zumba marathon, then feel compelled to walk on the treadmill while watching tv.  I cannot express enough that IT GOT ME NO WHERE!  Actually, that’s not true.  It got me an autoimmune disease.  I was totally unaware at the time that too much cardio was inflammatory.  I was working under the assumption that more always had to be better.  My unchecked cardio marathons were part of what put my body into inflammation overdrive.  That was a bit of a tangent, but my point was that this book really explains in simple terms how less is more. They emphasize short weighted training sessions and walking.  Both activities that our paleolithic ancestors would have done on a daily basis.  Here is what my training schedule is going to look like:

Monday- ME (Metabolic Effect) circuit (20 mins); 30 min walk

Tuesday-30 min Bodyrock workout (the authors recommend doing intervals instead of walking some days if you want)

Wednesday – ME circuit; 30 min walk

Thursday – 30 mins Bodyrock workout

Friday – ME circuit; 30 minute walk

Saturday – 60 minute walk

Sunday – 60 minute walk

I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

One response to “Book Review and Workout Revamp

  1. That sounds exactly like what The Primal Blueprint recommends. I’m like you, I used to teach fitness classes, then go do my own workout afterwards. Some days I worked out three hours or more. I ended up with mono – THREE times. I suspect now that also had something to do with getting fibromyalgia. I’ll have to read that book. I love biochemistry. Maybe someday soon I can finish that degree. Hormones are fascinating! I’m learning so much!

Leave a Reply

