From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Health History – Cont.

on June 10, 2012

I left off telling you that I had decided not to take the allopathic medicine approach to my autoimmune conditions.  Gasp!  The doctors (and some others) thought I was crazy.  They said I was putting my life at risk.  But I had to search for other answers.  I HAD to have peace about my journey.  Because my mom was already in the health and wellness field, she had a few contacts for me to try out.  I started with a Naturopath in Oregon.  As I am located in Tennessee, all of our meetings were by phone.  He advised me to get lots of tests run.   I had mutiple pee, poop, blood, hair, saliva and urine tests totaling about $4,000.  Mind you I did not have $4,000, but I was desperate and determined!  Through these tests I was able to get lots of information that while expensive, did turn out to be incredibly useful.  It allowed me to see more of the root causes of my issues and treat them instead of just putting a band aid over my symptoms.  My hair test revealed that I had high levels of certain heavy metals.  My urine tests showed that I was only absorbing about 20% of the iodine I was taking in.  This test was done after blood work revealed that I was hypothyroid.  My stool tests showed candida albicans (yeast), bacteria, parasites, and also revealed that there was essentially no mucous lining left in my colon and intestines.  I also did allergy testing and the only food allergy I had was to gluten. Yeah!  One silver lining.  I could have been allergic to a lot more.  Let’s see…what else was there?  Oh yeah,  I was anemic and hypoglycemic.  He said I was on the road to becoming diabetic.  My saliva tests revealed that my hormones looked like that of an 80 year old woman!  My progesterone and testosterone were nil.  How did all this happen??  I was supposed to be a vibrant, young wife and  mom.  Full of dreams and full of life!  This was not what I had envisioned for my future.  But this is where I was and I had to face it.  Stay tuned for the next installment.

Leave a Reply

