From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on June 13, 2012

Sleep – 10:45- 6:30  without waking up, so AWESOME!

Exercise – 30 minute walk on treadmill at 4.0; 5 min warm-up, 20 minutes ME workout (8 lb weights, 4.75 rounds, the goal is to get to 5 rounds in the 20 minutes and then move up to higher weights), 5 minutes stretching, 20 minutes rebounder, 2o minute leisurely walk with kids after dinner, 10 minutes yoga stretching before bed

Food-

Breakfast – Spring Scramble (see previous days for ingredients); green tea with ginger

Snack – Think Think Bar- I like these, but I don’t eat them often because of the sugar alcohols

Lunch – vegetable beef soup with 1 oz cheese, 1 orange; My husband made the soup last night for the kids while I was working and he saved me some.  I can’t tell you exactly what was in it, but I did pick out grass-fed beef, carrots, celery, onion, garlic, tomatoes & parsley

Snack – 2 chocolate chip cookies- Ok, before you judge me too harshly, let me explain.  I used to bake all the time before I went gluten free.  I actually had a side business at one time.  My daughter still loves to bake and has been begging me to make cookies.  I agreed to make the chocolate chip cookies in the book I am following, The Eat, Drink, and Be Gorgeous Project.  They were fabulous.  All the kids loved them, even the neighbor kids.  And that is saying something.  My kids are so accustomed to eating “different” things that they almost never complain about the weird textures and other differences that come with baking/cooking gluten free.  These cookies are vegan to boot!  At some point I am going to start putting recipes and pictures on here.  I am learning one step at a time.

Dinner – 1 stuffed bell pepper- Once again, my husband cooked.  I know, I know, I am very lucky!  You are probably wondering what in the world I do while he is doing all this cooking.  Usually the answer is cleaning up behind him.  While he is a wonderful, inventive chef, he leaves a giant mess in his wake, using every pan, pot and utensil we have.  Anyway, this dish had grass-fed beef, zucchini, onion, garlic, parsley, roasted red bell pepper, carrots and some unknown spices.  He then stuffed the mixture into red, yellow and orange bell peppers.  Mine was orange. And delicious:)

Leave a Reply

