From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Health History – Light Therapy

on June 20, 2012

So this post is a little out of order, but I wanted to address this topic in one post.  Well, that is not true.  I am sure I will talk more about light therapy since is now my career, but I wanted to give the introduction in one post.  As we all know, if you have been reading my previous posts, and of course why wouldn’t you since they are nothing short of mesmerizing summer reading (ha ha), I was very sick in August of 2010.  I had just received my laundry list of diagnoses…Sjodgren’s syndrome, vasculitis, gluten intolerance/Celiac disease, low pregesterone, low testosterone, high cortisol, adrenal fatigue, hypoglycemia, anemia, hypothyroidism, follicutlis, the list goes on…..

As I stated before, I had refused to continue with the traditional allopathic treatment of Prednisone.  I continued to work with my diet, exercise and supplements, but I also found…drumroll….light therapy.  I am going to cut to the chase right now and say that I believe God used light therapy to save my life!  It came to me through a friend of my mom’s.  My mom bought the equipment and since she lives next door, I began to borrow it at night.  Well, the first thing I noticed was that I was sleeping.  Hallelujah!  It felt like nothing short of a miracle since I hadn’t slept more than 15-20 minutes at a time since the ringing began in my ears.  Pretty soon, I started doing it again first thing in the morning before I had to take the equipment back to her.  I then began to realize that it was helping with the pain in my arms and legs due to the vasculitis.  And let me tell you, nothing had helped with that pain up to this point.  Not drugs, massage, heat, ice, nothing.  I would strap on those light pads and in one 20 minute session my pain would be gone.  At first it only helped for a couple of hours, but over the coming weeks that time began to grow until by May of 2011 I was completely pain free and vasculitis free according to my cardiologist. Another victory!  As I began to learn more about light therapy I decided to get certified as a Light Therapy Technician. I now do light therapy sessions at a spa and I do educational seminars for Avalon Light Therapy.  The technology is truly astounding.  It can help get the body back in balance from any number of conditions/diseases.  I will put up a link to the Avalon site in case anyone wants to check it out.

 

Leave a Reply

