From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on July 2, 2012

Sleep

At “Todd” and “Summer’s” as we are fictitiously calling my brother and sister-in-law.  For no particular reason I might add other than theses are their fake names that they like to use for fun sometimes so this just seemed like a good place to use those names.  I slept great!  Was super thankful for that since I barely slept Saturday night.  I think it was about 10:30 when we went to sleep and I got up around 6:15.

Exercise

Now that I have joined the rest of the world and gotten an iPhone, I could map my run this morning.  Woohoo!  I might mention that I don’t really consider myself a runner anymore.  However, I joined a CrossFit gym and my trainer ensures me that running is an integral part of the program so I am taking him at his expert word and am going to add a reasonable amount of running back into my routine.  I stress reasonable because it is most likely the unreasonableness (prob not a real word) of my previous running program that turned me off of running.  My motto was ” You can always go a little  farther.”  Turned out not to be a great motto.  I really wore my body down.  So this go around I am going to do much shorter distances and throw in some intervals.  This morning, Doug and I did a 2 mile interval run.  It took us 23 minutes.  Then we stopped and did the 100 burpees that my aforementioned trainer told me to do while out of town and away from the gym.  My time for the burpees was 10 min 12 sec.  After that, we walked/ran the mile back to the house from the park.  Took a leisurely 30 minute walk after dinner.

Food

This was our breakfast. 

We are calling it Beet Scramble. We took leftover roasted golden beets from last night and diced them up hash brown style Then we cooked 4 slices of diced organic, nitrite-free bacon.  Then we added 3 diced shallots.  When the bacon was almost done, we wilted the greens from the beets. When those were wilted, we threw in 6 eggs, scrambled them, and voila!  My husband is great at making up dishes on the fly and he has inspired me to do the same.  This dish definitely fall into that category.  It turned out really tasty and we both enjoyed it:) I also had 3 chunks of organic pineapple.

Snack – 1/2 of a Think Thin protein bar, 1/2 organic, Gala apple

Here was lunch

The Pharmacy Burger Parlor and Beer Garden in East Nashville.

Doug and I got two dishes and shared them.  He is so good to me in that way.  I always want to try as many things as possible:)  The first picture is a bratwurst platter with fresh made sauerkraut and fries.  I didn’t eat any fries, but I tore up the sauerkraut.  I have a real love affair with sauerkraut.  Weird, I know.  I tried a couple of bites of each of the sausages as well and they were all really good.  Not greasy like I usually find them to be.  The next picture is of a cheeseburger and fresh-cut sweet potato fries.  I also have a serious love affair with sweet potato fries.  Seriously!  Anyway, I got the bun on the side so my hubby could eat it.  This gluten-free girl doesn’t touch a bun. The burger was made with local TN beef and it was cooked to perfection.  I ate about 1/4 of it with the garlic aioli and lettuce then gave the rest to my man.  I ate about 10 sweet potato fries.

“Todd” and “Summer” enjoying a beer at The Pharmacy

Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream

Doug had the Wheatgrass , Pear & Vinho Verde Sorbet with two scoops of the Riesling Poached Pear.

I had the Whiskey & Pecans and the Buckeye State.

I shared a lot of mine so I ended up eating less than half of mine.

My daughter Finn enjoying her Mango Lassi Frozen Yogurt

Dinner

Organic mixed greens, almond tarragon chicken salad, organic strawberries, pecans, gorgonzola crumbles, yumm!!!

Leave a Reply

