From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on July 11, 2012

Sleep– Fell asleep easily which I am always grateful for.  Finn had a nightmare and ended up in my bed, but I went back to sleep easily and slept til about 7:15 which is late for me.

Exercise– Did yoga while listening to Psalms 11-15, Proverbs 3 and Matthew 6-8.  CrossFit at 9am.  It was hard but not as brutal as yesterday.  I think it helped that it was not so hot today.  It has been over 100 for several weeks and today it was like 75 at 9am. Perfect! I learned front squats today.  I did those in the WOD since I do not have my clean perfected yet.  The WOD was 5 front squats, 5 dip/push up things on the rings (forgot what they are really called) and then 100 single jumps (or 20 double jumps, but I can only string a few of those together at a time right now).  We did 9 rounds and my time was 14:24 I think.  Our weights today were overhead press and deadlifts which I was able to do so today was probably the first day that I fully participated in the weight portion of the workout.  After dinner, I took the kids out to ride their scooters which meant about a 30 minute walk for me.

Food

Breakfast

Blueberry Protein Shake

Almond/Coconut milk, scoop of whey protein, 1/2 cup organic wild blueberries, ground flaxseed and hemp seeds.

Snack – The last almond flour banana nut muffin (at least for a while).

Lunch

Vegetable Beef Soup

Grass-fed ground beef, onions, garlic, carrots, zucchini, celery and organic gluten free chicken stock.  My husband made it last night while I took the kids to movie night at church.  I think he probably put a few random spices in, but he never really remembers.  He doesn’t cook from recipes and he measures nothing!  Most times, it turns out great, but the downside is he can’t always recreate some of the things that turn out well.  I also had 5 cherries.  They were a new variety and the kids and I loved them.

Orando Ruby Cherries

Snack- Not totally paleo because they do have dairy.  They were good, but I liked the parmesan better.

Dinner

Sausage Waffles and Scrambled Eggs

This was a little different, but the kids love breakfast for dinner so I gave it a try.  The waffles have organic sausage in them.  They are made with almond flour, eggs, baking soda, salt and a touch of honey.  I also added a little cayenne pepper.  The kids really liked them.  But I did let them use some pure maple syrup on them and I think they would eat dog doo if I let them dip it in maple syrup!  It was clearly lacking in veggies.  This won’t be something I make a lot, but next time I will probably at least put some spinach in the eggs.  I also had 1/2 a slice of fresh pineapple.

 

Leave a Reply

