From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log-Whole 30 Day 19

on August 1, 2012

Sleep- It was our first night at “Todd and Summer’s” and I usually sleep well when we visit, but not this time.  I was already on a streak of stinky sleeping, so it probably had nothing to do with being there.  I went to bed around 10:45 but didn’t fall asleep until around 3:30  and got up at 6am.

Exercise- Obviously no CrossFit since I am traveling.  Doug and I did an interval run- 2.44 miles, 28:54 time.  Then we did a 12 minute Bodyrock workout and IT WAS KILLER!  CrossFit is certainly it’s own challenge, but I could tell that it had been a month since I had done this exercises!  It didn’t help that we were doing it outside in the heat (we didn’t want to wake my nephew).  It was 4 exercises, 3 rounds, 10 seconds rest, 50 seconds work.  1. Surfer, 2 Squat jumps, 2 jump tucks and a turn 2. 5 Mountain Climber & 5 Star Jumps 3. 2 Push-ups, 1 Burpee, 1 Tuck Jump 4. 2 Forward Lunges, 2 Squats, 2 Upright Row -used 17 pound sand bag

Food

Breakfast

Wendell’s Diner Nashville

Whole 30 Day 19 Breakfast

Whole 30 Day 19 Breakfast

Doug and I ate breakast at Wendell’s.  It is a really old diner that serves a great meat and 3 at lunch and dinner.  Since we were there for breakfast, I had an omelet with bacon, ham, sausage, red and green bell pepper and onions.  I wanted cheese, but I skipped it.  I got 2 sides with the omelet so I chose the sliced tomatoes (approved) and the skillet potatoes with grilled onions (not approved).  My concession was to eat only the 3 crispiest, best looking potatoes with all the onions.  I then gave the rest to Doug.  I just happened to have an avocado in my bag with all my supplements so I added that for some good fat.

Lunch

Whole 30 Day 19 Lunch

This is a terrible picture, but I will describe what it is.  First off, let me tell you guys that our CEO has gone Paleo so the food options have been awesome.  I work with truly enlightened, progressive company.  Check out the Avalon site on the blogroll.  Anyway, our CEO has lost 20 pounds going paleo over the last 2 months so he committed to making sure paleo food choices were available for all of us!  So cool!  I had some grilled chicken, grilled flank steak, grilled salmon,a salad with bacon and egg, and I had a couple of bites of a quinoa salad.  Not paleo, but I love quinoa and this was really tasty.  Then I had the bowl of fruit that you see and it was really fresh and sweet.

Snack

Whole 30 Day 19 Snack

They provided cauliflower, broccoli, asparagus, cucumber, carrots, tomatoes, ranch, blue cheese, hummus and pita chips for a snack.  So awesome!  I had some of the veggies.

Dinner

Whole 30 Day 19 Dinner

Mixed greens, chicken salad, pecans, strawberries, blue cheese and vinaigrette.  Super good.  From one of our favorite spots in Nashville, Bread and Company.  We needed something quick before we went downtown for a group outing. Here is where I tell you how I really fell off the Paleo wagon:(  Our company took us out to Robert’s Western World.  Drinks on them, so I had 2 raspberry vodka and soda.  No sweet soda, no gluten, but a splurge for sure.  We listened to the band, did some dancing,  in general just had a good time.  When Doug and I went to leave, we apparently made  a wrong turn onto a 1 way street.  We immediately see blue lights flashing in our rear view.  At first we think, no way could that be for us.  We have only driven about 50 feet at this point.  But, no, they are definitely pulling us over.  We pull over, answer all their questions and my husband is made to do the sobriety test.  He passes with flying colors, but the officers tell him they still believe him to be borderline.  Why am I telling you all this you wonder?  Well, rather than say going to jail, they tell us we just need to go eat some ice cream!  Seriously!!  So, they watch us go down to Mike’s ice cream shop back on Broadway (on foot).  In an effort to stay out of jail, I had to indulge, right?  They make their own ice cream at Mike’s and it was delicious.  I tasted the maple bacon.  Sounds gross, but is surprisingly good.  Then I had some chocolate peanut butter cup and toasted coconut.  I shared them with Doug.  And below is a picture of Doug enjoying his mandated espresso milkshake:))

DUI Milkshake

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Daily Log-Whole 30 Day 19

  1. girlmeetspaleo says:

    Haha ice cream?! Never heard that from popo before. So awesome your company offers paleo eats!! my is the exact opposite :-/

  2. cebrought says:

    I know, right? Pretty awesome!!

Leave a Reply

