From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on August 9, 2012

Sleep– Another great night!  Hallelujah!  I don’t know exactly what time I went to sleep.  I got in the bed to read at 9:30 which was awesome all on its own.  When I got sleepy, I turned out the light.  I am guessing it was about 10:30.  I woke up at 7:48 which is the latest I have slept in a REALLY long time.  One side note, I have been having lots of dreams.  A few of them have been nightmarish, like snakes in the couch!  I had another really disturbing one about one of my boys being molested.  These types of dreams are very unusual for me.  Not really sure if there is any meaning there or not.  Actually, I’m sure there is some meaning to these dreams, I just don’t know what it is.

Exercise-Rest Day; did Bodyrock Flow workout- it was 15 minutes with the primary focus on backbends.  The girl who leads these videos looks like she has no bones.  I don’t expect to get quite that flexible, but I would really love to improve.  Also did 10 minutes on the rebounder and an easy 20 minute walk.

Food

Breakfast

4 organic strawberries, 5 organic blackberries, Sausage Hash

The has is a recipe from Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fragoso.  It is super easy and super yummy.  I had the butcher at Whole Foods add sausage seasoning to their pasture raised ground pork and it worked perfectly.

Lunch

Chick hot dog, sauerkraut, avocado, pineapple, broccoli

Kind of a weird lunch.  Wanted to eat up the leftover broccoli and sauerkraut and this pineapple was getting almost too ripe.  My daughter asked for these hot dogs yesterday at Whole Foods.  Here they are:

They were definitely “lighter” tasting than regular hot dogs, but they still had a good flavor.  Here is my daughter enjoying her sauerkraut.  She always amazes me with the things she likes to eat.  Not a typical 5 year old!

Finn enjoying her Sauerkraut

Finn loves to bake so I agreed to bake our way through the treats section in our new cookbook, Eat Like a Dinosaur.  Our first attempt was a glowing success with these chocolate chip cookies.

Eat Like a Dinosaur Chocolate Chip Cookies

I cut one open so you could see they were gooey and moist in the middle.  They really could compete with a more “traditional” chocolate chip cookie.

Dinner

All-American Hot Plate from Well Fed

This is from Well Fed by Melissa Joulwan. She calls for any ground meat and I used bison because I had it on hand.  The items that look like potatoes are actually jicama.  I had actually never had jicama cooked before.  I have used it like a crudite, but this way was a new idea for me.  My husband and I really liked it.

Leave a Reply

