From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on August 13, 2012

Sleep– I was super tired, but I tossed and turned from about 11-1.  My tendonitis in my rotator cuffs just would not ease up.  I finally decided to get up and do some light therapy on it.  I grabbed my book, My Immortal by Erin McCarthy, (a friend of mine has given me several books to read).  I finished the book ( it was good, not a classic, but easy to read and a good escape) and I fell asleep halfway through my second 20 minute light session.  I woke up at 8:30 which may be the lastest I have gotten up since I had my twins 10 years ago.  Seriously!

Exercise- Since I woke up at 8:30, I missed the 9am CrossFit.  I totally missed my crew of girls, but the noon class was good.  Warm up- 1000k row, 2-4-6-4-2 pull ups ( only the blue band today, go me!), 2-4-6-4-2 hand stand push ups ( did the last few against the wall to practice, but most off the box), 30 knees to elbows and an odd stretch with our leg up on some boxes.  Lift- Overhead squat-  I find this very hard on my shoulders.  1×5, 1×5+  I used a 35# bar and did 8 reps on the second set. Backsquat- 1×20 I used 75#.  WOD- 50-40-30-20-10 Double under jump rope and sit ups.  I have not mastered the double under yet so I had to do singles – 100-80-60-40-20.  My time was 8:45.  For some reason, I didn’t feel like I had worked out hard enough so I ran 2 miles when I got home. Time-19:24.

Food

Breakfast

More Leftover sweet potato has browns, chicken sausage and pineapple

Lunch

Wild Planet 100% Pole & Troll Caught Tuna

I used this tuna to make the Waldorf Tuna Salad from Well Fed. It claims to have less than half the mercury and be sustainably caught.  I got it at Costco and it was definitely more expensive than the Kirkland brand I have bought in the past. If the claims are true then it is worth it.  It was also delicious.

Waldorf Tuna Salad in Avocado Boat and the last of the fresh pineapple

This would have been totally paleo except I used store bought mayo.  I was running late for lunch and just didn’t have the time to make the homemade.  Next time:)

Snack- handful of dark chocolate chips and a spoon of peanut butter.  Let me just admit now that this was a stress reaction.  My mom had just come over to tell me that my grandfather is not expected to make it through the next 24 hours.  I don’t know why this made me want chocolate, but it did.  Peanut butter, too? Even better.  It didn’t turn into an all out binge though so I’m giving myself credit for that.  The situation is crazy stressful because my grandfather married a woman who has cut us out of his life entirely.  Her first order of business was moving him across the country.  The next to write us out of his will.  It has progressed with her sending back pictures of my kids.  I feel like I have learned to forgive her, but knowing that he has been sick and she has kept it from us until it was too late for us to come see him alive has gotten some pretty powerful feelings stirred up in me.  Mostly, my heart breaks for my mom because I know how much it hurts her.  That’s her daddy and that is a pretty big thing in a girl’s life, even if she is all grown.

Dinner

Wild Hake Loins with Roasted Cauliflower

This was a fish I had never heard of but picked up at Costco for something different.  Reminded me of Mahi Mahi, very meaty.  The kids loved it.  They always love any type of seafood.  I gave the kids the “less burned” cauliflower, but honestly, I kind of like the burned pieces. Shhh! Don’t tell. They think I am being nice:))

 

Leave a Reply

