From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on August 16, 2012

Sleep- It was good.  I went to sleep easily and woke up refreshed.  Only caveat was that Finn woke up around 2:30 screaming.  Nightmares again:(  I tried getting in bed with her but every time I tried to leave she would wake up and say “Mommy, don’t leave.”  So I ended up just taking her to bed with me.

Exercise- Active Rest Day so no CrossFit.  I did a Bodyrock Flow workout at 8am.  It was 30 minutes of a yin yoga stretching routine and I loved it.  I felt so relaxed afterwards and the time flew by.  Normally when I do something “slow” like that, I tend to get restless.  Not this time.  At 10am the kids and I went to Shelby Farms (a large local park) and did a 3 mile walk.  Once again, it was a slow pace.  It was hot and my 5 year old got tired.  I think I was holding her scooter about a quarter of a mile in!  After the 3 miles, we played at the playground.  Finn got stuck in a tree after climbing the ropes course.  I went up and down, up and down trying to figure out a way to get her down.  Finally, a nice man offered to help me.  I went to the top and was able to pass her down to him. Whew!  I thought I was going to have to tell her to jump and just hope for the best.

Cooper on the Ropes Course

Finn walking the line

Presley Just a Swingin’

When everyone was still riding their own scooter

Food

Breakfast

Last Night’s Hot Plate with a Scrambled Egg on Top

This was SOME KINDA GOOD!  The kids even ate it!  Will definitely be doing it again!

Lunch-  We splurged today.  The kids wanted a treat and I really didn’t have anything to give them so we stopped by Kroger and got gluten free pizza.  Definitely better than fast food (which is what they wanted), but not the greatest either.  They loved it though and we had such a great morning.


I had a pack of nitrate free, uncured pepperoni from Whole Foods so I jazzed up the pizza with those.  We split the two evenly between the four of us but I couldn’t finish mine. Probably because I am not used to eating things like that.

Dinner

Grass-fed Beef Short Ribs

Grass-fed Beef Short Ribs with paleo BBQ sauce and broccoli

Ok, so I had never made short ribs before, but let me tell you they are AWESOME!  I adapted a recipe from Pioneer Woman (whom I happen to love even though I can never really make any of her food anymore).  Then I made this paleo BBQ sauce from Eat Like a Dinosaur.  The meat was so tender and yummy and the sauce was super.  The kids loved every bite. I don’t think I will make this too often simply because of the price.  The ribs alone were $30.  Our food budget is a more than our mortgage already so this will only be a “sometimes” dinner. And honestly, the 4 pounds I bought weren’t really enough.  My husband’s portion was kinda puny.
For dessert I made the kids a Paleo Chocolate Milkshake from Eat Like a Dinosaur.  It was not a hit. I tasted it and thought it was fine, but they knew that there were dates and an avocado in there and they just couldn’t get past it.  My husband said it tasted like a Bill Cosby Jello Pudding.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

