From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

2 Daily Logs

on August 20, 2012

So yesterday (Sunday) was a rest day for me and I just didn’t feel like posting.  I say rest day because I didn’t do any real exercise, but there was plenty to do around my house.  All 3 of my kids had lice so I spent most of my weekend dealing with that.  We homeschool, so who knows where they picked it up, but I think after hours of picking, washing, scrubbing, vacumming, burning, shaving, combing, (ok so not really any burning or shaving-the boys did get serious haircuts though) I believe we are officially de-loused!

Sleep-I slept ok, but Finn woke up screaming, and I do mean SCREAMING for me in the middle of the night.  It was another spider nightmare.  It makes me sad that she has so many terrible images in her mind when she goes to sleep, but I don’t really know what to do about it.  It doesn’t seem to affect her during the day.  She is actually my most fearless child.

Exercise- Rest

Food

Breakfast

1 organic fried egg, 1 nitrate free sausage, leftover sweet potato hash browns and half of a nut butter cup

Lunch

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

This was a recipe from Eat Like a Dinosaur. I found myself with lots of super ripe bananas so I made two loaves of this and the kids loved it.  And actually, I must confess that I ended up eating a chunk of it right out of the oven with some grass-fed butter.  I didn’t intend for it to be my lunch, but it was pretty filling.

Dinner

Leftover Salmon Cakes and Red Cabbage

Monday

Sleep- Pretty good.  Most noteworthy thing was that Finn slept through the night:))

Exercise- CrossFit at 9am. Warm-up- 400 meter run, 5-10-15-10-5 burpees, 5-7-9-7-5 pull up ( I switched around between only the blue band and the blue and red together), then we worked on our fascia with the foam rollers.  I think it is the most painful thing we do.  It kills!  Lift – Front Squat- 2×10 and 1×10+ I did 3 sets of 10 with 65#.  I am still struggling with some minor injuries and form issues so I am not attempting to go up in weight.  Backsquat- 1×20 (85#). WOD- 8 rounds of rowing 30 seconds on, 60 seconds rest.  My lowest round was 127 meters and my total was around 1050meters.

My daughter started acrobatics tonight.  It turned out that there was a Zumba class at the same place at the same time.  The first class was free so I decided to do it.  Turned out I knew the teacher from a few years ago when I was doing Zumba regularly and starting to teach.  After doing so much dancing a few weeks ago in Nashville I have really been wanting to put some dance back into my life.  It is an activity that brings me so much joy.  The classes are really reasonable so I may continue to do this on Monday nights.

Food

Breakfast-For some reason my phone pooped out and wouldn’t email these photos, but it was just a veggie scramble and some avocado.

Lunch- I made the tuna salad from Eat Like a Dinosaur and served it in an avocado “boat” with some root veggie chips and a few organic dark cherries.

Dinner

Pioneer Woman Roast Organic Chicken

Well Fed Thai Hot Plate

I roasted the chicken last night but used some of the meat in the Thai Hot Plate.  The chicken alone was fantastic, but the recipe called for so much butter I don’t know how it could have been anything but divine.  The Thai Hot Plate was divine as well.  The kids even loved it.  It was green beans, red bell peppers and chicken served over spaghetti squash.  Then I drizzled her Sunshine Sauce on it (similar to a peanut sauce) and garnished with cilantro, chopped cashews and mango.  I could seriously eat this once a week.

 

 

Leave a Reply

