From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Shoulder and Attitude Readjustment

on August 25, 2012

So I didn’t post yesterday because I had a crappy day and I was exhausted!  I mentioned before that I have been nursing some injuries.  Well, the hip injury seems much better, so yeah!!  But my left shoulder, oh, my left shoulder!  I didn’t sleep night before last and I didn’t sleep again last night.  That is not entirely true.  I think I drifted off around 4:30am and got up at 6am, but I wasn’t even asleep that entire time.  And the night before, I did drift off at some point because I dreamed that my shoulder was hurting so bad that I was crying and I awoke to find that I was really crying.  It hurts that bad. It has been at least a week since I have had a decent night’s sleep.  I have found myself in a little bit of a pity party because of it.  I haven’t been to CrossFit since Tuesday and that has got me in a funk too.  I thought that resting was the way to go, but the less I move, the stiffer my shoulder gets and the more it hurts.  It hurts so bad at night that I can’t sleep and then I don’t feel like being super active the next day because I am exhausted.  I can tell that the lack of sleep over the last week has gotten my immune system down.  I have a sore throat and some nasal issues.  Along with some pain related to my Sjodgren’s. And some inflammation in my gums.  I haven’t spoken about my health issues much over the past couple of months because I don’t really like to keep those labels active in my mind.  However, when things like lack of sleep rear their ugly head, some of  my all-too-familiar symptoms come back.  I am trying to keep my mind in a good space, but the lack of sleep seems to impair my ability to think clearly.  All I really know to do is to pray that tonight I get a good night’s sleep because the longer I go without sleep the deeper this pit is that I have to dig myself out of.

2 responses to “Shoulder and Attitude Readjustment

  1. I feel your pain. I hope everything gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

