From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

So I have been totally MIA….

on October 30, 2012

Have you ever had one of those seasons where you are just so crazy busy, even if it is in a good way, that your eating starts to fall apart??  Well…that is where I am at today.  I have been CRAZY busy.  I am the new social director for my CrossFit gym and my first big event was last Saturday’s Halloween party.  It turned out so great.  I have also been in the process of planning the next 3 events that are coming up before the end of the year.  Another big time commitment has been with work.  I have several new light therapy clients, which is great, but it is time that I would normally have for other things.  Thirdly, we are fundraising for my daughter’s trip to Los Angeles to interview with talent agents. We are busy choreographing dances, learning monologues and organizing fundraisers.  Top it off with homeschooling 3 kids, trying to maintain a house and a marriage and that pretty much sums it up.

My dear friend and Coach Heather has turned me on to a new author, JJ Virgin.  I have ordered her new book, but it won’t be here until December.  I can’t wait until December.  I need to turn the tide now so I am going to spend the next 3 weeks implementing some of her concepts and see how it goes.  Her book is primarily about food intolerances and leaky gut, which I know I suffer from. NOt as badly as in the past, but still to some degree.  The first three foods she recommends eliminating (for 3 weeks) are gluten, dairy and eggs.  I am going to add in soy and sugar.  Gluten and soy are a non issue already because I do not consume them.  Dairy will be easy because I only eat it at restaurants so there will be very little to cut out.  Sugar and eggs however will be difficult.  I go without sugar for a while, but then as soon as I have it, I am right back on that roller coaster of highs and lows and INSANE cravings!  I feel there will be tears during this next 3 weeks.  And eggs, they are my staple breakfast food.  At one point, I would have said that I did not have a problem with eggs, and maybe I still don’t, but since going paleo 2  years ago I have consumed so many eggs that I think it is worth cutting them out to see what happens.  I am pledging now to check in here to let you guys know how my 21 days are going.  Once I get the book and learn the whole program I will probably do it again, but there’s no time like the present so here goes….

2 responses to “So I have been totally MIA….

  1. drowqueen says:

    I suffer from stomach ummmm issues, so gluten was cut out, but it is hard to make sure I stay on track. Good luck! I might try dairy as well…that’s my next thought on why I still have stomach pains.

  2. I’ve been somewhat MIA, too. It’s just that time of year, like you said. Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

