From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Virgin Diet Update

on January 6, 2013

Thought I would check in (mostly with myself) to update the results of my Virgin Diet experience.  I am not really sure what day I am on.  I did a full week of the 2 shakes a day before Christmas, then I took Christmas Day and the day after off.  I started back on the 27th so I guess that makes this Day 11 since I really considered it a start over.  I finally got up the courage to get on the scale.  Since I’m not really sure where I started, I don’t know how much I have lost, but it is probably around 4 pounds.  I feel like I need to lose more, but I’m not obsessing over it because I feel better.  I am sleeping better, my digestion is improving (more on that in a minute), my energy is better and my mind is clearer.  When I first started the Virgin Diet it messed with my digestion.  I was gassy and a little constipated.  I think it was adding all that fiber.  I also had some reflux (although that was there before the diet).  I started doing some research and I ended up putting prunes in my shake and taking bitters and DGL before meals and it has helped tremendously.  I think I needed these products before the diet, but I just wasn’t in the mode to go and search them out.  I am also back at CrossFit after a month off and it feels great!  I am only going 3 days a week for the month of January and I’m only pushing to about 70%.  I still don’t have my thyroid regulated so I don’t really feel like it is smart to push it any harder until that is more stable.  My doc is putting my on Armour thyroid, but he hasn’t started it yet.  All in all, feeling better and feeling hopeful.  Here’s to a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

