From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Virgin Diet Day 12

on January 7, 2013

Started the day out with a chocolate shake.  I can’t believe that I am actually liking these things!  I thought this part would be really hard, but it hasn’t been.  It’s Monday, so I went to CrossFit.  It has been an adjustment not pushing myself at the gym.  I worked on snatch today and backsquat with weights that were crazy light!  I did do more reps than usual, but it still seemed weird.  I listened to a Balanced Bites podcast over the weekend (Diane Sanfilippo and Liz Wolfe) that spoke to the thyroid issue and working out and it reiterated the need to go light and not overexercise with a thyroid that is wonky. So I think I am on the right track.  FYI- Diane and Liz are great!  I would love to be doing something like that at some point.  Maybe they’ll read this and ask me to be a guest.  Oooh, maybe they would like to know more about light therapy.  I think I’ll just send that out into the universe and maybe it will get to them somehow;)  Anyway,things are moving in the right direction.  I’m loving my bitters and my DGL.  Testosterone seems to be helping some, but could probably be doing more.  Not sure at this point if that is due to the thyroid or the fact that I need a higher dose of testosterone.  Guess that is one for the Doc.

4 responses to “Virgin Diet Day 12

  1. Barb A says:

    Thanks for blogging about the Virgin diet. I plan to start soon but don’t know how to cook except with processed foods. Would you share what you,re eating at dinnertime? Thx!
    Barb

    • cebrought says:

      Hi Barb! I have used a few of her recipes in the book, but mostly I have eaten paleo (minus the eggs). I don’t know if you are familiar with paleo. If you are, pretty much all paleo recipes will comply with the Virgin Diet if you leave out the eggs. If not, there are so many great cookbooks out there. There are also some great blogs where you can get recipes for free. Some of my favorites are PaleoOMG, Against All Grain, Urban Poser, Everyday Paleo, Balanced Bites and Cave Girl Eats. Browse through some of those and if you still need some more tips, hit me back:) Good luck!

  2. Susie says:

    I started the Virgin diet two days ago and started using the shakes yesterday. Do anyone of you feel like the protein powder bloats your stomach? I can’t tell if it’s the protein powder or some other food. Thank you.

    • cebrought says:

      Susie- I didn’t feel like the shakes bloated me, but I did feel like they constipated me in the beginning. I ended up backing off on the chia and flax seeds and adding a couple prunes to my shakes. Stevia also gives me bloat and the shakes do contain some stevia so if you happen to be sensitive to it, that could be a problem. It could also just be a bit of a detox reaction to dropping the other foods and adding the shakes. I would probably give it a little more time. If it doesn’t resolve by week 2 I would look into making some adjustments. Hope that was helplful.

Leave a Reply

