From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Daily Log

on January 18, 2013

Sleep- Another great night thanks to the fact that my hubby was off for Labor Day. Since he works nights, this meant another night of passing out on his chest.  The real test will be tonight now that he is, sadly, back at work:(

Exercise- CrossFit at 9am.  Warm-up- 400 meter run, stretching, worked on snatch and jump shrugs, worked on plantar fascia with a lacrosse ball.  That hurt.  Apparently, mine are tight!  While the rest of the crew worked on snatch pulls (I think), I worked on overhead squats with a 15 pound bar.  This was the first time I have been able to get my arms overhead without serious pain in weeks, so it was a big moment.  The WOD today was 5 pull ups and 100 meter runs, AMRAP, 10 minutes.  I used a blue band and I got 9 rounds.  Later, I did a 12 minute Bodyrock with Doug and there was a new exercise on there called the Spiderman and it kicked our booties!  While the kids were visiting next door with my parents (yes, my parents live next door and it is fabulous), I did a 25 minute rebounder routine that I found in a magazine and wanted to try out.  I watched a rerun of Mike and Molly which I love.  Melissa McCarthy is so freakin’ awesome! LOVE HER!

Food

Breakfast

2 organic chicken sausages, avocado, sweet potato hash browns

Lunch- Ok, so I didn’t really eat lunch, but is was because I made snacks for the kids for the week and I couldn’t help myself from trying them.  And once I did, I wasn’t hungry for lunch.  Here’s what I made, for the kids of course;)

Banana Nut Muffins with Chocolate chips- made with almond flour and a little honey

Essentially a Paleo Smore

I made a big batch of what essentially is a paleo graham cracker. The recipe is from Eat Like a Dinosaur.  It is made with a combo of coconut flour and almond flour.  I am freezing them so I can have them for when the kids need a “treat”.  I had just enough natural peanut butter left in the jar that I couldn’t help myself from slathering one with it and then popping on a small square of 72% dark chocolate.  It was yummy.  Oh, and the kids liked them too:)

Dinner

Spaghetti Squash with olive oil, garlic and red pepper flakes

I had leftover spaghetti squash so I decided to make a version of a recipe in Well Fed.  I just sauteed garlic and red pepper flakes in olive oil then added some salt, pepper and parsley.  When it was done I topped it with the almond flour crumbs that had been toasted in coconut oil.  And for extra decadence I threw on some grass-fed cheese.  It was super simple and good.

Leave a Reply

