From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

January 22, 2013

on January 22, 2013

Today was a low key day.  I love it when one of those days comes along on a weekday where I don’t have anywhere I have to be at any specific time.  Sure, I’m still a homeschooling mom of 3 with a part time business so I wasn’t lacking for things to keep me busy- but I just like it when I don’t have to “get dressed and get somewhere” if I don’t want to!  It was a day off from CrossFit so I took an easy 30 minute walk while watching The Biggest Loser.  In light of all my adrenal issues it makes me wonder how those people can work out like they do and not risk adrenal fatigue?  I know they need to lose the weight, but it seems like the way they do it might not be the best way?  Anyway, I also did 30 minutes of yoga (15 this morning and 15 this afternoon).  I have Bethenny Frankel’s Skinny Girl Workout on my Kindle and I love that I can take it anywhere in the house (or outside for that matter) and do it.  So convenient.  Can you guys tell I’m in love with my Kindle Fire HD???  I will admit that Bethenny is a little annoying, but the workouts are good.  They are challenging strength wise but they don’t get my heart rate up which is good since I am trying not to do much cardio right now.

Couple other pieces of good news- I got my latest round of blood tests back and things looked better.  My testosterone was up from 16 to 28.   Granted, my doctor would like to see it closer to 60, but that is still nearly double and I do think it is making me feel better.  My thyroid numbers look pretty normal at this point but due to my history he thinks they still need to be tweaked so he has me starting a low dose Armour thyroid this week.  We’ll see how that goes.  The last piece of business- No Belly Bloat tonight!!! Woo Hoot!!  I’ve been listening to the Everyday Paleo podcast and they addressed a similar issue and seemed to think it was either from too many veggies (which seems weird, I know- think it has to do with too much fiber, especially if you have suffered from any digestive issues) and/or an issues with fructose digestion.  I think I could fit into both of those categories so I am trying to keep and eye on my evening meal since it seems that is when I am most susceptible.

I started reading Liz Wolfe’s Paleo skincare guide last night so I will let you guys know what I think about that soon.  I already started doing the oil cleansing (which I love) and using Grandma’s Lye soap (which I also love).  My hubby has bad problem skin (cyctic acne) so I can’t wait to see what I can do with him.  Using oil on his face pretty much creeps him out, but he trusts me so he is going to let me boss him around in this arena for a while and see what happens:)

Leave a Reply

