From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

21 Day Sugar Detox Days 9-11

on February 13, 2013

My mornings have been so busy the past few days that I haven’t had time to post.  At the point, I’m not sure I can remember the specifics, but I’ll try to hit the high points.  Let’s start with the “not so good.”  I have kept thinking that this detox was giving my low blood sugar or energy crashes, but I am starting to wonder if it is the new thyroid meds.  Over the weekend I began feeling anxious with a racing heart and just “off.”  I had been feeling hormonally off for about the past 10 days.  At first I blamed in on my cycle and then I blamed in on the 21DSD, but I’m not totally convinced it was either of those things.  Last night it was the worst and I barely slept a wink.  I didn’t take my thyroid meds this morning and emailed my doc to see what he thinks.  On the to good stuff.  My mother and Finn and I went to see Mary Poppins on Sunday night.  It was so much fun!  Finn was absolutely mesmerized by the scene changes and tricks.

Finn and I at Mary Poppins

Finn and I at Mary Poppins

It was her first big live theatre show and I hadn’t been since she was born so it was such a treat!  As a side note because I am looking at my bangs in this picture, I think I am going to have to start washing my hair with real shampoo at least once a week.  I like the No Poo method in some ways, but my hair is just getting too heavy.  As I refine my method I will keep you posted.

Yesterday, the kids spend a big portion of the day making Valentines.  Finn has 20 kids in her homeschool class that she needs a Valentine for and I agreed to let her pick out any ones she wanted.  But no, she said, “Aren’t you supposed to make Valentines?”  So that is what we have done and they are turning out really cute.  And it didn’t end with the kids her in class.  Yesterday I mailed large envelopes of Valentines to relatives living out of town.  My floor is still covered with supplies.

Presley and Finn in the Valentine Factory

Presley and Finn in the Valentine Factory

I made the Paleo Parents Carbonara recipe for dinner and then had the leftovers for lunch.  It was super yummy.  I added wild caught shrimp to mine because I had it on hand and my kids love shrimp.  This is the leftover lunch portion.  It looked better the night before.

Shrimp Carbonara

Shrimp Carbonara

 

Leave a Reply

