From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

21 Day Sugar Detox- Day 19

on February 21, 2013

Just 2 more days!! I’m not sure why I am really excited because I have no plans to go on a sugar bender.  Guess it just feels good to finish something.  Except a book.  Lately finishing books has felt a little sad.  I LOVE that feeling of suspense, of not being able to wait til I have a quiet moment to pick up my latest and bury myself in a world that is not my own.  Bittersweet for sure.  And Downton Abbey!  That did not feel good to finish last night!  Why in the world did they do that??  I think maybe they are going to try to hook up Tom and Mary.  Doug (my hubby) says no, but I think they have worked too hard to give Tom awesome hair to not make him center stage!  More on topic, I am feeling better today. My joint pain is not getting any worse and my energy level and sleeping are improving.  I went to CrossFit today.  I can’t really do snatch because of the inflammation in my elbow, so I did backsquat and clean.  I went up by 5 pounds on each of those lifts so I was happy.  Slow and steady!  The WOD was 5 hand stand push ups, 5 pull ups and shuttle runs across the gym for 8 rounds.  My time was 6:57 which seemed pretty good. I did my HSPU off a box, but I did my pull ups without a band:)

Here’s some pictures of a few of the things going on around here:

Liver Stew

Liver Stew

This was the second attempt at liver and it was much easier to eat than the first.  My husband made it once again because I still haven’t worked up to cooking it myself.  But I will!

Green Pastures Fermented Cod Liver/Butter Oil Blend

Green Pastures Fermented Cod Liver/Butter Oil Blend

Finally got my Fermented Cod Liver Oil!  It comes highly recommended by Diane Sanfilippo and Liz Wolfe.  I am only taking about 1/4 tsp right now to get acclimated.  We’ll see how it goes.

Sausage and spaghetti squash "pasta"

Sausage and spaghetti squash “pasta”

This was breakfast for me today and it was so good!  I found this pastured, local sausage and then added it to cooked spaghetti squash with a little full fat coconut milk, ghee and parsley.  Very yummy!

Pork Burgers over Arugula

Pork Burgers over Arugula

Lunch- Pork Burgers from Paleo Indulgences. I used some Tessmae’s Zesty Ranch over it and it was quite yummy!

Popsicle eating sickies

Popsicle eating sickies

My 3 babies all eating popsicles.  A rare treat around here- generally only allowed when they are sick, which they all are:(

 

 

Leave a Reply

