From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Autoimmune Skinny Paleo Plan

on July 23, 2013

So I started a new weight loss plan today.  Story of my life. I have struggled with weight since 6th grade.  Or at least body image.  As a 35 year old woman, I now realize I never had a true “weight” issue.  My body image issue, however, has been a very real issue for over 20 years.  I can’t remember if I have written about this on the blog before (I can’t remember a lot of things these days), but I I have, my apologies.  To be succint with a 20 year story…it all started at a school fitness day.  Remember those President’s fitness tests?  Well, we had one in 6th grade and we all had to weigh in front of each other- something I am sure wouldn’t happen these days- and I weighed 104 pounds.  Someone watching said, “Oh my God, she weighs more than a hundred pounds!”  Well, my child’s mind immediately thought, “Over 100 pounds is too much!”  Mind you, I was the same height I am now, so 104 pounds was definitely not too big.  That is what got the ball rolling and add to that the careless comments by other friends, media and social pressure and my own need for perfection and you have a recipe for disaster.  I was anorexic, bulimic, an overexerciser, diet pill user and consumer of all types of weight loss products.  I even did Zerona a few years back (which sent me into huge flares with my autoimmune disease and didn’t even work). I have no doubt that the physical and mental stress of my “eating issues” played a very significant role in the evolution of my autoimmune and other health issues.

Back to the present…when I went Paleo nearly 2 years ago, I thought my “weight issues” would be solved.  You hear all these magical stories.  I thought I would automatically find my “happy weight.”  THIS DID NOT HAPPEN.  In fact, I have gradually put on 20 pounds after going Paleo.  Yes, you read that right, I put on 20 pounds after going Paleo. Am I the only one???  About mid-way through this journey, I found out that I was hypothyroid.  So I thought, ok, that is the problem.  Surely, once that is worked out, the weight will fall off.  After multiple medications, I have finally found one that I can tolerate with out insomnia and heart palpitations (Westhroid) and my thyroid is improving, but still no weight loss.  So, this past Sunday it all came to a head and I had what my Dad call a “come apart.”  Ok, who am I kidding? I had a giant, f- bomb dropping, crying on the bathroom floor, dry heaving nuclear meltdown!  My sweet kids wanted me to go watch them launch the rocket they had made and I LITERALLY could not fit into anything that wasn’t pjs.  I had this vision of more nights crying on the floor between the toilet and the wall as my family and friends went out and lived their lives. I don’t want that!  So my plan? Well, it’s going to sounds a little (or maybe a lot) crazy, but here it is…I am doing Bob Harper’s Jumpstart to Skinny for the next 21 days.  With modifications.  I have made it autoimmune paleo friendly.  People in the paleo community don’t often talk about it, but I still think that calories count to a certain extent. I am working under the assumption that even though my food is super clean, it is still too many calories for my small, not quite 5 ft 2 in frame.  So I used Bob’s calorie restricted recipes but made substitutions for things that were not Paleo.  I then further adjusted it to make it autoimmune friendly and low-FODMAP.  Yes, this means it is very restrictive and will be very repetitive.  But I just need to see if the problem really is that I am unwittingly taking in too much food.  My only other theory is that due to my health issues, my body is still holding onto a lot of inflammation that is causing me to gain/resist losing weight.  In that case, I guess I just have to be patient and pray for money to buy a new wardrobe.  I’ll post once a week to let you guys know how my experiment is going.

2 responses to “Autoimmune Skinny Paleo Plan

  1. Ok. A chunk of that first paragraph came from inside my head….seriously. Those Presidential Fitness tests were redonk. I’m 5’9 so I’ve been over 100lbs pretty much since birth, but still. The body image thing is a consistent issue for me. Thanks for writing this. It totally resonated with me.

    • cebrought says:

      Thanks for reading! It is such a pervasive problem in our society. I look at my daughter now who is 6 and just desperately don’t want those voices in her head!!

Leave a Reply

