From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Mineral Fusion “Natural” Nail Polish

on July 30, 2013

I really like my nails painted.  I don’t have super feminine hands and having them painted makes me feel a little more girlie.  For a season (while my hubby had a second job) I got those shellac-type manicures that lasted for a couple of weeks.  I think some people make them last even longer, but my nails grow really fast so by two weeks you could always see my new growth.  I admit that I liked having them done, but it was an expensive commitment and I had to find child-care for my kids (also a financial commitment sometimes).  I just don’t have the money for that right now.  Add in the fact that sometimes I would leave there with a headache from the chemicals and you can see why I gave it up.  I have been using Essie polish mostly because it is readily available and they have fantastic colors.  However, I am always a little concerned with the chemicals in the polish.  This past week I finally decided to try Mineral Fusion nail polish. It is formaldehyde, toluene, camphor and dibutyl phthalate free.  I got mine at Whole Foods, but you can get them online for $7.99 and there are over 60 colors.  I purchased Canyon, a warm, brown, neutral shade with just a touch of shimmer.  I painted them on a Monday morning and I was chip free for 4 days and didn’t really feel like it was bad enough to remove it until day 7.  That is a HUGE success for me.  Because I cook and wash dishes 3 times a day 7 days a week, 2 days is usually all I get.  It went on really easy and came off easier than any polish I have ever used.  It still had a mild chemically smell, but it was definitely not as strong as conventional nail polish.  You gals should try it.

Here’s the link: Mineral Fusion Nail Polish

Mineral Fusion Polish

Mineral Fusion Polish

photo(10)

My pretty nails

My pretty nails

That is obviously not a super picture- ragged cuticles- but it turns out my hands don’t photograph well so you are getting a claw instead;)

One response to “Mineral Fusion “Natural” Nail Polish

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    I love this nude shade!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

