From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Paleo Pumpkin Mug Cake with Chocolate Coconut Glaze

on September 13, 2013

September rolls around and I just CRAVE pumpkin!  It started with this pumpkin cream sauce I made to go over spaghetti squash (recipe forthcoming) and then I had lots of pumpkin left.  What to do?  Pumpkin cake!!  I wanted something small and quick because leftovers at my house are a bad idea.  I will sneak a bite every time I walk into the kitchen.  And since I work at home, I am in the kitchen a lot!  So…I made up this recipe based on some others I have tried before.  It required walking next door to my mom’s to use the microwave since we don’t own one anymore.  Another deterrent from making this cake too often;)

Paleo Pumpkin Mug Cake

2 Tablespoons coconut flour (sifted, if you want to be thorough)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

3 Tablespoons canned pumpkin (or cooked mashed pumpkin if you are that good)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

2 Tablespoons pure maple syrup

2 Tablespoons coconut oil (melted)

Coconut oil spray

1.  Spray your mug/bowl with coconut oil spray.  Or just rub a little coconut oil in it.

2.  Mix the dry ingredients in the bowl.  Add all the wet ingredients and mix well.

3.  Microwave for 2 minutes. (This could vary depending upon your microwave)

4.  Pick it up with a towel because it gets VERY hot!

5.  Frost and eat straight from the mug or run a knife around the edge and slip it onto a plate.

Chocolate Coconut Glaze

2 Tablespoons coconut butter (coconut manna works too)

1 Tablespoon coconut oil, melted

1 Tablespoon pure maple syrup

1 Tablespoon cocoa powder

pinch of salt

1.  Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix completely

2.  Spoon or frost onto the slightly cooled cake

3.  Enjoy:))

photo(41)

photo(46)

photo(45)

My kids had these for breakfast this morning so I could get some pictures.  That’s not terrible is it?  They actually have very little sugar, especially since they only had a half and the coconut flour is high fiber and low carb.  So there!  I will say that they can get a little rich first thing in the morning if you add the chocolate glaze.  Next time I might just melt on some grass-fed butter.  Yum!

photo(44)

photo(43)

photo(42)

2 responses to “Paleo Pumpkin Mug Cake with Chocolate Coconut Glaze

  1. Tré says:

    Reblogged this on trelynne and commented:
    um…. yes please.

  2. Tré says:

    this looks amazing. I cannot wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

