From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Sweet Potato Hash with Pesto (paleo, gf)

on September 16, 2013

So you may have noticed that I am using a lot of pesto these days.  For one, I LOVE it!  I think it makes almost anything tastier.  For two, I have been getting tons of basil at my farmer’s market and I really don’t know what else to do with large quantities of basil.  Any ideas would be appreciated:)

This sweet potato hash recipe is one of my favorites.  And it was even better with the addition of the pesto.  I also like it with lots of fresh sage, but my farmer’s market hasn’t had any sage since early June.  Is there a season for sage?  I’ll have to look into that.  I always associate it with fall, but maybe I’m wrong.

Sweet Potato Hash with Pesto

1 pound breakfast sausage (I use an amazing pastured sausage from my local farmer)

2 large sweet potatoes, shredded (I use my food processor)

1/2 cup pesto (any kind would work, but I’ll put a recipe below)

1 tsp granulated garlic (1-2 chopped fresh cloves would be good too)

1/2 tsp Penzey’s Shallot Salt ( I just happened to have this and needed to use it up- you could use onion powder or omit it)

salt to taste (potatoes tend to require a lot of salt so just layer it until it seems right to you)

Fresh basil to garnish

Coconut oil or other cooking fat

1. Cook and crumble your sausage over medium heat.

2. When your sausage is cooked through, add your shredded sweet potato to the pan, still at medium heat.  Depending on how much fat is rendered from your sausage, you may need to add a couple of tablespoons of coconut oil or lard.  Add in your salt and spices.

3.  Cook until the sweet potatoes are done, about 15 minutes.  Be aware that your potatoes could stick to the bottom of the pan.  Sometimes mine do and these crusty bits are my favorite part!

4.  Once the sweet potatoes are done, add in the pesto and let it heat through if your pesto is coming from the fridge.  Remove from the heat and add the fresh basil.

Basil Pesto

2 cups fresh basil (pack it tightly to measure)

1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted (i have also used almonds or walnuts if that is what I had on hand)

1-2 cloves of garlic

1/2 tsp of salt, or more to taste

1/4 tsp pepper, or to taste

1/2 cup of extra-virgin olive oil

1.  Add all ingredients, except oil to the bowl of a food processor.  Process until nuts are finely chopped.

2.  With the motor running, drizzle in the oil until it is the consistency you prefer.

I sometimes add garlic olive oil or lemon olive oil to change it up.  If you tolerate dairy well, you can always add about 1/2 cup of Parmesan, Asiago, or Romano cheese.

photo(47)

photo(48)

Leave a Reply

