From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Egg and Sausage Pie with Spaghetti Squash Crust

on September 20, 2013

Ok, so that was a mouthful of a title, but I wanted you guys to know what you were getting!  Let me say upfront that this recipe was based on one by the amazing Juli Bauer of Paleomg. Juli is AWESOME!  She is totally irreverent and hilarious and her recipes are simple and tasty.  When I saw her recipe for Spaghetti Squash Crusted Quiche, I knew I had to make something like this since I am a spaghetti squash fanatic!  Per the usual, I had a spaghetti squash on hand, so I just used things I had in my fridge and pantry to come up with my own version of this.  Hopefully you guys will enjoy one or the other:)

Egg and Sausage Pie with Spaghetti Squash Crust

1 large spaghetti squash

1 pound breakfast sausage (we get pastured pork from a local farmer that is sooo very good)

6 eggs, whisked

1 Roasted red bell pepper, store-bought or homemade

1/2 Tablespoon dried parsley

1/2 Tablespoon dried basil

salt and pepper, to taste

Coconut oil, for greasing the pie plate

1.  Preheat oven to 350.  Cut the spaghetti squash in half and scoop out the seeds.  This can be a little tricky to do.  I have heard of people cooking them whole to avoid this step, but I have never done it.

2.  Place the spaghetti squash cut side down on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Drizzle a couple of tablespoons of water on the pan.  Roast the squash for 25-35 minutes.  Until a fork will pierce the squash with relative ease.  You should not have to stab it violently.  When the squash is done, set it aside to cool.

3.  Crumble the sausage into a skillet over medium heat.  Cook until no longer pink and cooked through.  About 10 minutes.

4.  Whisk the eggs and seasonings together in a medium size bowl.

5.  When the squash is cool enough to handle, scrape out the strands and place in a large bowl or a colander.  Use a clean kitchen towel or paper towels (or some other ingenious method) to squeeze out extra moisture.  This is an important step to me because I don’t like my quiche to be runny at all.  Once this is done, place the squash in the bottom of a greased pie plate and shape it around the sides and bottom evenly.  Sprinkle the spaghetti squash with salt.

6.  Pour the egg mixture in to the pie plate, on top of the squash.

7.  Drain the excess fat from the cooked sausage and layer the sausage into the pie plate.

8.  Next, layer the chopped red bell pepper into the pie plate.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

9.  Bake in a 350 oven for 30-35 minutes until eggs are completely set.

10.  If your “pie” is still too runny for your taste, turn your broiler to high and broil for an additional 5 minutes.  Enjoy!

My entire family ate this up!  My kids do not like spaghetti squash (stinks for them since I make it all the time), but they devoured this!

photo(50)

photo(49)

Leave a Reply

