From Here to Health

My journey back from autoimmune disease

Spaghetti Squash with Sausage and Brussels Sprouts

on September 27, 2013

Is it Brussels with an s?  When I say it out loud I think I just say Brussel sprouts- no s.  Anywho,  it’s more sausage and spaghetti squash over here.  That’s what happens when you invest in half a hog.  Pork galore.  No problem for me since I love me some pastured piggie:))  I have been wondering though if there is such a thing as too much pork?  Paul Jaminet seems to think so.  This article and the ones that follow are actually pretty disturbing.  I don’t really want to cut down on my pork consumption, (especially since I have about 150 pounds in the freezer), but I am going to keep looking into it.  For those of you that are unafraid….Here goes:)

Spaghetti Squash with Sausage and Brussels Sprouts

1 Medium spaghetti squash

1 pound breakfast sausage

1 pound brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved

1 Tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

2 Tablespoons grass-fed butter

1 1/2 teaspoons pepper

1 teaspoon granulated garlic (fresh would be great too, I just didn’t have any)

1/2 cup canned full-fat  coconut milk

1/2 teaspoon Penzey’s shallot salt

1 teaspoon oregano

salt, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  Cut the spaghetti squash in half and scoop out the seeds.  Place cut side down on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Roast for about 30 minutes.  It should give a little if you poke it, but not be mushy.

3.  Place the brussels sprouts on the same sheet pan and toss with the olive oil and a little salt and pepper.  Roast alongside the squash for about 30 minutes or until desired doneness.

4.  Meanwhile, cook the sausage in a deep skillet or dutch oven over medium heat, until cooked through, about 10 minutes.  Drain the fat from the sausage.

5.  When the spaghetti squash is cool enough to handle,  shred it into the pot with the sausage.  Add the butter, coconut milk, brussels sprouts and spices.  Mix well.  Add salt to taste.

photo(51)

Leave a Reply

